Stop SnagIt new version pop-up message

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 months ago
  • Answered
Every so often, now that SnagIt has a new version (2018), all users in my area are getting a pop up message about the new version. How can this be turned off? It is annoying to the staff I support to have this message interrupt their work. Found some posts here for previous versions, but those are outdated answers for previous versions.
Photo of INRIXIII

INRIXIII

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Daniel Foster

Daniel Foster, Snagit strategy lead

  • 944 Posts
  • 225 Reply Likes
Hi Arnold - individual users can control this via Capture Window > File > Capture Preferences > General > Automatically check for updates. 

Admins can configure this setting for their end users via our Deployment Tool (tool and documentation are linked from that page). It creates a customized install of Snagit. 
Photo of INRIXIII

INRIXIII

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Great - I will take a look at this. Thank you.
Photo of rghorbani

rghorbani

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I am using 13.1.5 and there is no such option " Automatically check for updates". 
Photo of Daniel Foster

Daniel Foster, Snagit strategy lead

  • 944 Posts
  • 225 Reply Likes
Hi - here is where to find the option on Snagit 13.1.5

Photo of rghorbani

rghorbani

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Thank you. 
Photo of K R

K R

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
rghorbani is a pretty lucky person if this popup only shows up every once in a while.  For me, it shows up 7, 8, 9...10 times per day.  Every time I leave my computer and come back to it I get this pop-up?

What are users supposed to do?  Check to box to allow updates?  I do not want an automatic update and I do not want a popup.  Why do I need to allow automatic updates just to get rid of an annoying pop up? 

Is this so TechSmith can download my personal data?  I cannot see any other reason.  At this point, it is probably not worth having the software if I cannot control my connection to  TechSmith.

Is there a registry key that I can alter?  Otherwise, I just delete it and warn everyone I know not to get the software.
Photo of K R

K R

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I should add that the popup is not for the new version--it is this annoying thing...

(Edited)
Photo of Daniel Foster

Daniel Foster, Snagit strategy lead

  • 941 Posts
  • 225 Reply Likes
Hi KR - that is odd behavior, indeed. Which version of Snagit are you running and how long have you had it installed?