Table of Contents - Delete default "Introduction"?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
Using Camtasia 9.0.1 to create a table of contents in Smartplayer. The first 'link' created is "introduction". All the items in the table of contents are created by placing "markers" on the timeline of the project. "introduction" is not on the timeline, and I can't find it anywhere else. 

Is there a way to delete this, or change it's name?
Photo of Ken McLeod

Ken McLeod

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6251 Posts
  • 1835 Reply Likes
do a custom production to MP4 with controller

you will get to a dialog that lists all markers, including the default "intro"

you can delete the text [use rename], or change it to something you like [rename]

you can also add a marker at T=0 and name it there
Photo of emiller

emiller

  • 3 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Yes you can do as Kayakman suggests - but either way, there is no option to uncheck including the first marker in a custom production because the checkbox is greyed out.  If I delete the text using rename, then Camtasia adds "Untitled Marker" as the name in production.

I don't understand why our productions should be forced to have a marker at t=0
Photo of Ken McLeod

Ken McLeod

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Yes, irritating feature for sure.

What happens if after deleting the text, you hit the space bar once to enter a blank space rather than leaving the box empty?  
Photo of emiller

emiller

  • 3 Posts
  • 2 Reply Likes
Interesting thought, but I just discovered a definitive way to get rid of the t=0 marker:

After production, go into the "scripts" subfolder that was created by production, then open config_xml.js with notepad and search for the code that instructs the player to add the first marker.  It might look something like this:

<rdf:li><rdf:Description xmpDM:name="Introduction" xmpDM:startTime="0"/></rdf:li>

Delete this full line, then it's not added at all to the table of contents.

The same text is also in the root production folder named [Yourprojectname]_config.xml I assume this should be removed too because I'm guessing this is used maybe as a backup if javascript isn't working or for some other reason.
Photo of Ken McLeod

Ken McLeod

  • 3 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks! A bit hidden. Dialogue doesn't appear when editing saved presets, but  "custom production" each time works fine.

Thanks again.