TechSmith Capture - option to disable "Close Preview" dialog

  • 2
  • Idea
  • Updated 4 days ago
Hey, would be extremely nice to get rid of the Close preview / Continue editing dialog. Or at least to have an option to disable it. It's very annoying to have that extra click all the time.
Photo of dima054

dima054

  • 6 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 1 month ago

  • 2
Photo of Jake Fenton

Jake Fenton, Capture Team Mac Engineer

  • 25 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
Hi Dima,

Our worry is that right now, it's very easy to lose a capture by doing something that looks safe, like copy or save or upload. We know it's probably not common for people to do multiple things with their capture, but until we have a way to get back to at least the most recent capture from elsewhere in the application, we want to be very careful about potentially destroying data.

As soon as we implement something to address that, which we hope to do soon, we'll have more options for streamlining the post-capture workflow.
Photo of Assaf Itzikson

Assaf Itzikson

  • 4 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
But if you took over Jing, surely you can replace the tech it used to have a history of images captured to the clipboard and remove this useless "close preview"
Photo of Jake Fenton

Jake Fenton, Capture Team Mac Engineer

  • 25 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes
Hi Assaf,

Unfortunately it's not as straight-forward a process as being able to copy existing code from Jing and paste it into Capture--if it were, it would have beenĀ  easier to continue maintaining Jing, as we have for over a decade. We have to balance the effort of adding new features to Capture--like a history window--with other features people are asking for and our available resources.

We're working on changes to the workflow that will limit the potential for data loss and also streamline the overall capture process.
Photo of cy.troyh

cy.troyh

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Jing's capture history and auto-closing on copy/upload was fantastically more functional than Capture's current preview system.

Closing the preview after I copy or upload a capture is an irritating extra click to do something Jing did automatically, and the loss of the Jing History feature is wildly frustrating. That history has saved me so many times.

All in all, I completely mourn the loss of Jing.