Why did Snagit for Mac revert from paid to trial?

  • 6
  • Question
  • Updated 6 years ago
  • Answered
  • (Edited)
Are you KIDDING ME that if I update my Snagit software –– something EVERY COMPANY ALLOWS YOU TO DO, IF YOU PAY FOR THEIR PRODUCT –– from Version 1.0.4 to Version 2.0...that it invalidates my license & becomes a trial version again?!?!?! You guys are a bunch of crooks!
Photo of Adam McCollum

Adam McCollum

  • 2 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
  • pissed!

Posted 8 years ago

  • 6
Photo of Jason Eagleston

Jason Eagleston, Employee

  • 640 Posts
  • 97 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi Mike, 

I apologize for the confusion and misleading behavior. TechSmith prides itself on integrity and we continually strive to treat our customers with the utmost respect. With the most sincerity I can convey, our intent was not that of subversive methods to trick anyone into purchasing this new version nor lose access to what you paid for. 

The reason for delivering this paid upgrade via the normal update mechanism is to reduce as much friction to existing customers to give the new version a try. Additionally, the support for "side-by-side" installations on the Mac platform is a largely unsupported and undefined capability, which also was a contributing factor to this decision. 

The steps we took following this thread (starting 2 years ago) were two-fold. One, during the upgrade notification process we included a warning that the update being installed would temporarily take you into a trial period to allow you to evaluate the new upgrade:



The second step, and the more important one is giving you the ability to "revert" to your paid version if you aren't happy with the newest version or decide not to purchase. This can be done as seen here: 



Again, I do sincerely apologize for the misleading nature of the update process, and please let me know if you need assistance reverting to your paid 2.0 version. 

Thank you, 

Jason Eagleston