Trial Version Watermarks Shared Video

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 5 months ago
Just downloaded the trial version of Camtasia 9. TechSmith assured me it gave me all the facilities of the full programme. IT DOES NOT! I just spent an hour downloading it and editing only to discover that the trial version watermarks any video you try to share. TechSmith needs to be a lot clearer about what it does and doesn't offer. I did a good deal of research into this and didn't come across this information anywhere.
Photo of Clare

Clare

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • rather cross

Posted 6 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Kelly Mullins

Kelly Mullins, TechSmith Employee & Helper

  • 2738 Posts
  • 566 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hi Clare,
Thank you for your feedback on this matter. We appreciate it. And, I'm sorry you missed our messaging about the inclusion of the watermark. Be assured we are constantly monitoring posts like to to ensure we have the messaging in the right places.  It is our intent to be as transparent as possible about the use of the software AND the inclusion of the watermark.

Overall, just for others who might come to this post and read this, the intent of the Camtasia free trial is just that, an unpaid trial version to allow you to see how the software works before you purchase it. The sole purpose of the free trial is to work with the software before you purchase to see if it meets your needs. Not to create videos you can share with others.

The download page tells you your produced videos will be watermarked until you purchase the software.


And, the videos are not meant to be shared when using the trial version.  When you install the software, you agree to the conditions of the trial version. The EULA states videos created with the trial version are not be be shared, uploaded, etc. The EULA also states that a watermark or other method to disable sharing might be in place.



When you go to use the software, each time you start it in trial mode, you are told the produced videos will be watermarked:



And, when you go to produce your video, you are told the video will be watermarked until you purchase the software.



So, as you can see, we do try to let you know all along the way that your output will be watermarked.

But again, I'm sorry if it was not clear the produced videos are not meant to be shared and the watermark inclusion was not readily seen during your workflow.

The Camtasia team reads these posts and takes all feedback concerning the watermark seriously.

KellyTechSmith