Undo behavior changed between Camtasia 8 and 9

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • (Edited)
In Camtasia 9 (build 1306), cutting or ripple deleting part of a .trec results in a stitch. Undoing the operation undoes both the stitch and the cut or ripple delete. This behavior is different from Camtasia 8, where performing an "undo" removes the stitch and a second "undo" is required to undo the cut or ripple delete. Is this change intended?

If so, I would like to voice my disapproval of the change. Sometimes I want a stitch, and sometimes I don't (like if I need to add a transition). A single undo is a quick and easy way to get an unstitched .trec. In Camtasia 9, I have to delete the portion I want to remove, and then drag the two pieces together.
Photo of Jeremy McPeak

Jeremy McPeak

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 5883 Posts
  • 3070 Reply Likes
The new way to un-stitch media in that situation is to hit the " Minus " Key right after cutting or ripple deleting.

Regards, Joe
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6396 Posts
  • 1892 Reply Likes
Joe, can you elaborate?

the "minus" key technique does not work for me ...

the listing of all CS9 shortcuts indicates that there is no shortcut for unstitch?

where am I going wrong?
Photo of Joe Morgan

Joe Morgan

  • 5883 Posts
  • 3070 Reply Likes
Maybe it's time for new glasses? I tested the short cut and it seemed to work perfectly.

Now I cannot make it work.

Regards,Joe
(Edited)
Photo of Vahé Pogossian

Vahé Pogossian

  • 5 Posts
  • 4 Reply Likes
Hi there.
I might be wrong but have you tried disabling auto-stitching in the Preferences menu? That might help.

Photo of Jeremy McPeak

Jeremy McPeak

  • 7 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks, Joe!

@VahePogossian, I don't want to disable auto-stitching because more often than not, I want something stitched after cutting/ripple deleting. Thanks for the suggestion, though.
Photo of Kelly Mullins

Kelly Mullins, TechSmith Employee & Helper

  • 2754 Posts
  • 568 Reply Likes
Hi Jeremy,

Thank you for your feedback. I will bring this to the attention of the dev team.

It might be it was a simple oversight or, perhaps we put that option in the right-click menu to be the replacement workflow for this as we solved another issue users were having.

So, for now, you would do your cut, the stitch is created, right-click the stitch > Unstitch.

Thanks again for letting us know this interfered with your preferred workflow. It's important we understand these pain points for our users.

Kelly
User Assistance
TechSmith