Want to only share one video and not folder contents

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 years ago
I have a Screencast Pro account. I only want to share the individual video with others and NOT the folder contents or have access to my library. I use to could do this but something has changed. I'm not sure how to do this. Please help.
Photo of jnewlin

jnewlin

  • 0 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • frustrated

Posted 3 years ago

  • 2
Photo of Robert R.

Robert R., Online Community Admin

  • 1564 Posts
  • 469 Reply Likes
Official Response
Hello!

You will want to place your captures into a folder with the 'Hidden' privacy setting. Here are a few links that might help:


These should get you started.

-Robert
Photo of Aaron

Aaron

  • 0 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Just for a bit of feedback, that was a really terrible change to make to turn on the ability to see all files in the same folder. I have many different clients and was uploading to a single folder, and suddenly my clients had access to each others' videos with very sensitive information in them. That is really really bad. If that was already the case and I only noticed it because of the new layout, I apologize. But I don't think that clients could see all of my uploads except the ones they had links to prior. I appreciate having the option, but I don't appreciate that being turned on for my account for me. Did you all not think that you might be releasing people's sensitive information? Again, maybe it was like that before and I'm completely in error.
Photo of p.stanos

p.stanos, Employee

  • 67 Posts
  • 15 Reply Likes
Aaron,

I'm sorry to hear that the folders did not work as you expected. Until recently new folders were created as 'Public' by default. This means that anyone with a link to one of the pieces of content could relatively easily get back to the entire folder and see the other content as well.

We have since changed the default folder privacy to 'Hidden'. By using the 'Hidden' privacy setting you can share content links out to different clients without allowing them to see all of the content of the folder. You can change this privacy setting on existing folders too.

I hope this helps clarify things.

-Paul
(Edited)