Warning needed when installing upgrade

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 5 years ago

A suggestion: When you prompt us to install an update, include the fact that we'll be required to *restart our PC* upon completion of the install. In most cases, I would not bother installing an update if I knew in advance that I'd need to halt my work, close six to 10 applications, and wait for my PC to restart, then re-open all my apps and begin productive work again.... all just to get a couple of bug fixes or "enhancements" for an application I use in a very limited way.

I like your products. But requiring a computer restart for a screen capture app update feels like I'm dealing with Adobe (which is a negative experience in terms of how they handle their recurring Adobe Acrobat upgrades). So please include the warning about needing to restart the computer any time your update will require this.

Orson

Photo of orsonk

orsonk

  • 7 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like

Posted 5 years ago

  • 1
Photo of Rick Stone

Rick Stone

  • 5287 Posts
  • 2497 Reply Likes
Hi there

Personally, even though I see those messages, generally speaking, you should be able to dismiss them and continue working without restarting. I almost never am actually forced to restart the system and am usually able to bypass the "gotta restart" messages. Then when I'm ready to restart things seem to work just dandy.

Cheers... Rick :)

This conversation is no longer open for comments or replies.