Why are my videos disappearing when opened from one Camtasia user to another (all on same network)?

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 years ago
  • Answered
Hi,

We're using Camtasia Studio 8.6.0 on Windows.  I am encountering the following problem:

I copy and pasted a group of clustered and named videos from one Camtasia into a new file. I retain the changes, the transitions, the audio changes, and everything. When I went to hand the project off to a coworker (saved, made sure all my media was on the same place on the network, and closed), she pulled up the files, and was not able to see the video clusters I had previously made.  The transitions and white boxes with speaker titles were available, but the videos themselves were missing.

We closed her program, and I went to open it on my laptop. The files were visible there. What is the reason that these videos are not showing up in my coworker's files?  The image below is what she has on her computer.

Photo of R

R

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 years ago

  • 1
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6250 Posts
  • 1834 Reply Likes
just guessing here, but did the missing items come from your Library?

however, best practice is to zip the project and share the zip with your coworkers 
Photo of R

R

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
They didn't, not exactly. What I had done was isolate the clips from the old file  to the timing that we wanted, split them, and copied them. I then closed that file, opened the new file, and Ctrl + V Pasted into the timeline. Worked fine for me.  Putting the clips in the Library strips them of the audio work and transitions etc that we put into them.
Photo of kayakman

kayakman, Champion

  • 6250 Posts
  • 1834 Reply Likes
putting timeline assets in the Library should not strip them of edits made

are you adding timeline selections to Library, or are you just selecting a clip and adding it?
Photo of Naomi Skarzinski

Naomi Skarzinski

  • 202 Posts
  • 189 Reply Likes
As Kayakman mentioned, exporting the file as a zipped file is probably your best bet as it is the best practice to use when working with others.  What I do, to make sure everything follows with sharing back and forth is add a version number to each export.  So you send the export zipped file to your coworker as ABC-V1. Your co-worker unzips the file in a folder as ABC-V2, works on it and makes the changes, exports the zipped file and sends it to you as ABC-V2, etc.  That way, you always have the most recent file and if anything goes wrong, you have previous versions to fall back on.