Why doesn't deleting from Snagit delete???

  • 1
  • Question
  • Updated 2 months ago
In the Snagit window, on the bottom are the thumbnails in the film strip of all of the screenshots I've taken and have not dee. If you mouse-over any of these images, there is a little "x" on the upper left corner so you can delete the screenshots you no longer want.



It was a surprise to me to find the following folder that holds all of my Autosaved Captures:



What surprised me even more was that there was 366 items (773.9 MB of files) and that all of the files that I had deleted from the filmstrip above were never deleted from the computer. 

Why is that?

Is there a secret handshake to delete files from this folder at the same time you are deleting them from the filmstrip?

Is this a bug or a feature? My vote is bug!
Photo of Gary Coyne

Gary Coyne

  • 73 Posts
  • 33 Reply Likes

Posted 2 months ago

  • 1
Photo of Tony Coty

Tony Coty

  • 98 Posts
  • 14 Reply Likes
Go to the folder that shows where your autosaves are, and select all the photos, and delete them. In mac, select all and click the trash can on the toolbar. Takes two seconds to do. 

Photo of Gary Coyne

Gary Coyne

  • 73 Posts
  • 33 Reply Likes
HI Tony,

Yes, that's what I ended up doing (with the exception that I clicked on the specific images that I want to keep, right clicked on those images, "Locate in the Finder" and gave them a Red Tag so that I would not inadvertently delete them).

But that doesn't answer the question as to why they were not deleted when I deleted them from the FilmStrip. The fact that I could delete them but not have them deleted from my hard drive is rather silly, no?
Photo of Rick Stone

Rick Stone

  • 5620 Posts
  • 2667 Reply Likes
Hi there

For me, the X that allows you to remove the capture from the Recents tray appears in the upper right corner of the thumbnail.



The Recents tray just gives you access to the most recent items you have captured.

If you click Edit > Editor Preferences... > Library tab, you should be able to clear the check marks so nothing is saved to your library.



Cheers... Rick :)
Photo of Gary Coyne

Gary Coyne

  • 73 Posts
  • 33 Reply Likes
Hi Rick,

That looks like what I need but I can't find that Preference anywhere. Is that from a PC? I'm on a Mac.

It is not to be found in my Edit menu and when I looked at my Preferences for Snagit, I found nothing like what you show.
Photo of Tony Coty

Tony Coty

  • 98 Posts
  • 14 Reply Likes
Rick, I don't have this option either on my Mac. Only option for autosave is location to save the files.
Photo of Rick Stone

Rick Stone

  • 5620 Posts
  • 2667 Reply Likes
Sorry, my bad. Looks like another feature parity difference. I'm on a PC.
Photo of SactoBob

SactoBob

  • 165 Posts
  • 61 Reply Likes
That is correct, Rick. I'm with Gary on this sentiment. However, I do want all shots autosaved because I only make up my mind regarding retention on very few at the time of the shot. However, once I decide to get rid of the shot, whether it be one minute, one month or one year from taking the shot, I want it to be gone --- completely!

An option would be to do Gary's red flags automatically. e.g. If I drag a shot from the tray, have the application mark the Finder copy. In that way, when I periodically visit the Finder file of shots, I can tell at a glance which I already removed from the tray.
Photo of Gary Coyne

Gary Coyne

  • 73 Posts
  • 33 Reply Likes
Hi SactoBob,

It's funny how we all have a different workflow. To me, the items that I keep in the Recents Tray would be the one's I want to keep. As such, when I wanted to locate the files that I wanted, I did a right-click on the ones in the tray to show them in the finder. Those I gave the red Tag to. That way it was easy to see the ones I wanted. 

To me, the logic would be if I delete them from the Recents Tray, I do not want them and they should be automatically removed from the computer.

But I am confused: if they are not saved in the Library (on a PC), where are they? Yes one can see them in the Recents Tray, but where are they on the computer? Just in RAM? In a Temporary file? Where?

To me it makes complete sense to have them stored SOMEPLACE on the computer, my issue is the lack of automatic removal when the screenshot is deleted from the Recents Tray. As such I do not see the PC's approach as any better as you either save all screenshots or do not save all screenshots.
Photo of Tony Coty

Tony Coty

  • 98 Posts
  • 14 Reply Likes
Gary,

Go to Preferences,  (see screenshot) and select "CHOOSE" to find out where your autosaved are or to send them to a custom folder of your choice.




(Edited)
Photo of Gary Coyne

Gary Coyne

  • 73 Posts
  • 33 Reply Likes
Hi Tony,

I'm confused, how does selecting where the folder to collect the screenshots helps to delete them after they've been deleted from the Recent's Tray?

Because items in the Recents Tray can be right-clicked to show their location in the Finder, I really do not care where they are. I only want them deleted when I delete them.

But thanks though
Photo of Tony Coty

Tony Coty

  • 98 Posts
  • 14 Reply Likes
Gary, you were asking where are the autosaved screen captures are stored. That is why I replied. Once you click on the "CHOOSE" you get to see where they are located, and have a chance to change the folder to one you can always find.  If you want to keep the default snagit folder, you can always get back to that folder and select the screenshots you want deleted and just do it manually.

Hope this helps!
Photo of Gary Coyne

Gary Coyne

  • 73 Posts
  • 33 Reply Likes
Uhh, not exactly. What I said was:

It was a surprise to me to find the following folder that holds all of my Autosaved Captures:



What surprised me even more was that there was 366 items (773.9 MB of files) and that all of the files that I had deleted from the filmstrip above were never deleted from the computer. 

I couldn't have seen the number of items (366) unless I had found the folder. What I did (as stated elsewhere) was to right click on one of the images in the Recent Tray, and look for "Reveal in Finder." 

And there they were.

But again thanks, I'd rather people provide help than assume and/or be quiet.
Photo of Tony Coty

Tony Coty

  • 98 Posts
  • 14 Reply Likes
wow, that was RUDE!  at very least, you could say thank you even if it wasn't helpful. We did try. 
Photo of Gary Coyne

Gary Coyne

  • 73 Posts
  • 33 Reply Likes
Huh? 

Tony, IF this "...that was rude" comment was directed to me, and I'm assuming it was because it was done in a response to my comments, please look at my messages again. In each case I did thank you for your help. 

Again, I thank you for your earlier responses. 
Photo of Luke Griffioen

Luke Griffioen, Employee

  • 1163 Posts
  • 288 Reply Likes
Hi Gary,

The items that appear in the filmstrip (or tray) are meant to be recent captures or things you're currently working with. All captures are saved to your library unless you manually delete them. The 'x' button closes a capture from the tray, but does not delete the file. If you want to delete a file from the tray, you'll need to right click and select "Move to Trash".

We don't currently have a way to automatically delete captures, but you can manage them through the library. Note that anything deleted from the Library (or the corresponding folder on disk) will also be deleted from the tray.



I hope this clears up some confusion!
Photo of SactoBob

SactoBob

  • 165 Posts
  • 61 Reply Likes
Luke: Hate to say this but you are "preaching to the choir" to coin an old American saying. We know how it works.

We are talking about how it can be improved. Personally speaking, I'd be happy just to know that TechSmith will consider said ideas for a future update.
Photo of Gary Coyne

Gary Coyne

  • 73 Posts
  • 33 Reply Likes
Actually SactoBob, I did need that breakdown. It was new to me—apparently I did not know that distinction between removing a file FROM the Capture Tray and removing it TO the Trash. It was not obvious to me (obviously). 

I did some quick playing and found that I can delete one or many from the Tray and that's good.

In all, the "Move to Trash" when right-clicking was pretty obvious but I missed it because I was relying upon the "X" (deletion) when mousing over an item in the Tray (and I just held the mouse over the "X" for a longer amount of time and saw the popup that explains what it does, I never waited for the popup before as I assumed that was all that was necessary and never even looked for an alternative).

So, thanks to Luke, SactoBob, Rick, and Tony for your help.