Why is "Save Standalone Project" default??

  • 2
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 weeks ago
This has been brought up before, but why does Camtasia have to default to "save standalone project"?  We use the application heavily in our college, and this default behavior is causing us to waste quite a bit of drive space by duplicating all of our media that we have saved as trec files separately.  Worse, if you create multiple versions of videos using the same source media, it duplicates the media in each camproj file!  This is completely unnecessary as it's easy to save as a bundled project if/when needed.

Please consider not continuing with this default behavior.

Thanks!
Photo of ijn1

ijn1

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 2 weeks ago

  • 2
Photo of Paul Middlin

Paul Middlin, Employee

  • 835 Posts
  • 185 Reply Likes
Thank you for your feedback and clarity on how you're using it, ijn1. It's helpful to us.
I can tell you why it's the default, since you've asked, though certainly it doesn't help with the way you and your team use it.

We've found that a lot of people struggle to get things working again when they share project with other people, or move around files on their on hard drive. It is very easy to accidentally 'orphan' your media/trec/etc when the project is not stand-alone. This way, it seems simpler, and less prone to error or broken projects. More advanced users, such as yourself, are still able to manage projects where multiple projects reference the same recordings/media, because you understand the consequences of moving around the shared media.
Photo of ijn1

ijn1

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks for the reply, Paul!  I can totally understand the issue some have with sharing/moving files, and I'll admit that being able to create the single packaged file when transporting content is an advantage.  It's not that we don't like the feature, it's just that we have to try to train people to uncheck the Create Standalone... box every time they first save every project.

Maybe the development team would consider adding a preference setting for this (with default being on)?  This would help folks in our situation as they would just need to change the setting once in their preferences.