With new Windows user profile - I "lost" old screenshots.

  • 1
  • Problem
  • Updated 2 weeks ago
My company botched the Windows profile update from an old domain to a new domain (company split/merge) - I still have a copy of all the SnagIT screenshots from the old profile.  I moved all the data from:

C:\Users\<old-user>\AppData\Local\TechSmith\SnagIt\DataStore to
C:\Users\<new-user>\AppData\Local\TechSmith\SnagIt\DataStore

over 6,800 files of SnagIT goodness (with .SNAG and .SNAGundo extensions)

How do I cause the .sdf file to be rebuilt so that Editor sees the old stuff?  I tried changing the name and restarting which only caused the .sdf file to get recreated.

/dan
Photo of Dan Haller

Dan Haller

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
  • a bit nervous of losing the old files...

Posted 2 weeks ago

  • 1
Photo of Paul

Paul

  • 1200 Posts
  • 933 Reply Likes
Try scrolling t the bottom of this thread and see if the registry hack will work for you:

https://feedback.techsmith.com/techsmith/topics/datastore-location-for-reinstalls